Japanapalooza

Laser Lights Brighten Up Japan-Jordan Soccer Game

If you think soccer isn’t exciting enough, you may appreciate the latest innovation – laser lights. There were so many laser lights at last week’s Japan-Jordan World Cup qualifying showdown that one almost expected Pink Floyd to magically appear. But the laser lights weren’t for the entertainment of the crowd, they were instead directed at the eyes of two of the Japanese players at crucial times during the game by some nefarious person or persons. Descriptions of the suspect sounded suspiciously like Dr. Evil.

Japan, after losing the game 2-1, filed a formal complaint to FIFA over the incident, so I’m sure that will help. As for Jordan, their official response was “Laser lights? What laser lights? We didn’t see no stinkin’ laser lights!”

Some have suggested that the mysterious lights were sent by God, who is apparently still not a huge soccer fan.

3 comments on “Laser Lights Brighten Up Japan-Jordan Soccer Game

  1. life insurance summary
    August 30, 2013

    I’ve never yplaed laser tag, but I have yplaed paint ball once. In paint ball, depending on the type of game you’re playing, you can definitely respawn . I know on the course we yplaed at they made anyone that got hit walk back to their team’s side of the field and touch the wall before they could get back in. It was done on the honor system pretty much although a guy normally knows when he hits you, so he can call you out if you don’t bow out voluntarily. I’m sure in tournament play or whatever it’s a 1 shot and you’re out deal..but on public paint ball courses where you’re paying by the hour for equipment and field usage, I think they try to keep you playing as much as possible. Also, my one experience was on an indoor course, so outdoor courses may be a different story.As far as comparing it to laser tag, which, again, I haven’t yplaed, I’d say there are some key differences. I assume the markers used in laser tag are fairly accurate as they use infrared LEDs. Rental paint ball markers are anything but accurate..at least where I yplaed. They’re generally $120 or less markers that shoot straight for about the first 10 feet then veer off randomly. This issue is greatly magnified if you break a ball in the gun and they don’t supply you with a squeegee to clean out the barrel.Paint ball requires protective eye wear which is very necessary but quite a pain in the ass especially if you wear glasses. I spent 3/4 of my time either playing with a fogged up mask or cleaning off my fogged up mask not fun.Paint ball is messy. Nasty, nasty messy. Perhaps it’s just the facility I was at, but there wasn’t a square inch anywhere in that joint, other than the lobby, that wasn’t covered in paint. They have carpet (god knows why!) in their locker rooms..and they were just nasty soaked with paint. Of course, that’s just facility upkeep and what not but even playing for the few hours I yplaed..I left drenched in paint. And it’s not even because I was getting tagged that much I mean I was but the majority of the paint is from laying down or crawling or crouching or leaning against a barricade or some such thing again everything you touch is covered in paint.Paint ball is expensive. If you want your own marker, a decent entry level one will cost you at least a couple hundred bucks but you could spend far, far more. The paint is ungodly expensive as well. Me and a couple other guys split a case of paint, which is 2000 balls, and it was $75 total. So every time you pull the trigger it’s almost 4 cents! Doesn’t sound like a ton..but it adds up quickly even more so if your gun is inaccurate, as you end up just sprayin’ and prayin’.I guess that’s all I have for now just my observations. I really need to get out and try laser tag sometime sounds more my style.

  2. car insurance quotes
    September 20, 2013

    Your’s is a point of view where real intelligence shines through.

  3. price car insurance quote
    November 9, 2013

    Good to see a talent at work. I can’t match that.

Tell Us What You Really Think!

Information

This entry was posted on April 4, 2013 by in Culture and Society and tagged , , , , .
