Japanapalooza

Why I Won’t be Wearing a Tail Anytime Soon!

Okay, I admit it. There are some things that come from Japan that I just don’t get – even after living one-third of my life here. And this is one of those things: a tail that you strap on your ass and that, based on your heart rate, wags when you get excited. Kind of like a mood ring for folks who had always secretly wished they were a cat. This new tail is called “Tailly(of course), and is the brainchild of Shota Ishiwatari. He helpfully explains…

Tailly is not just a toy, nor is it a fashion accessory or a gadget. It is those three items combined, and since it reacts to the heartbeat rate, an extension of the users’ body, Tailly is fun to wear to parties, while out with friends or playing with kids. You could even wear Tailly on a date and express your true feelings through the wagging tail. Even better, your partner could also wear one for the both of you to add a level of subconscious communication between the two of you.

Okay, that’s all well and good, but if I’m on a date, I already come equipped with a perfectly fine “tail” that is very good at letting me (and my partner) know when I’m excited. I think I’m going to have to pass on Tailly.

Tell Us What You Really Think!

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2013 by in Culture and Society and tagged , , .
