Japanapalooza

Music Hall: Lisa Ono

Lisa Ono is one of my favorite Japanese singers. Actually, to be more accurate, she’s my favorite Japanese-Brazilian singer. Born in Brazil in 1962, she began singing at age 15, and made her professional debut as a Bossa Nova singer in 1989. In 1999, she imported the Brazilian sound to Japan and sold more than 200,000 copies of her “Dream” album. As a result, she popularized Bossa Nova in Japan virtually overnight.

In the video above, she sings a great jazz standard, “Fly Me to the Moon,” written by Bart Howard in 1954.

Buy her music on Amazon!

6 comments on “Music Hall: Lisa Ono

  1. Donn
    March 10, 2013

    Undeniably beautiful.

    • Alishba
      August 22, 2013

      How wonderful to get to know you btteer – you tall, gorgeous, talented, creative and well traveled blog friend!And snakes and I don’t get along that well either… But the puppy can move in with me any day!Cyber hug,Mon

    • Yogesh
      November 7, 2013

      躲起來 was something that you have to keep lisientng a few times before you can breathe a meaning to it. I felt the same way about 假如讓你吻下去. Title cut 回來愛的身邊 was boring when I first listened to the CD…but it was not bad after a few times. I missed the 2005 concert (so bummed out) because I couldn’t schedule the vacation sooner than Dec. So I could only watch it on DVD, which ripped off the encore segment. But that she held a concert in Lake Tahoe last year somewhat compensated for my loss! Okay…my bet for your top 5 SL albums: (not in that order because I’m still pulling my wits…)夢了瘋了倦了野花 Sandy ’94灰色逃離鋼筋森林 (this one is iffy…)I also like 呼吸林憶蓮 and Faces&Places a lot….再不在乎, 風笑痴, 都市心…she needs to consider these songs for the next concert…Love,Sandy sold over 2 millions all over Asia…but I find it very Taiwanese and plain.

    • www.frugalmoose.com
      February 7, 2014

      Your answer shows real intelligence.

    • Kaydi
      March 7, 2014

      The rest, as QuotesChimp say, is history. As the United States grew, so did insurance companies. Life insurance came onto the scene, and when automobiles were invented, auto insurance quickly followed. Health insurance, workers compensation insurance, and even prepaid legal insurance have all made their appearances on the great underwriting stage of life. In fact, from its humble beginnings, the insurance industry has grown into one of the greatest financial powerhouses in the world.

    • insurance nevada car
      April 8, 2014

      I bow down humbly in the presence of such greatness.

Tell Us What You Really Think!

Information

This entry was posted on March 9, 2013 by in Music and tagged , , .
